Celia Birtwell For Uniqlo

Legendary textile designer Celia Birtwell has teamed up with Uniqlo to create a capsule collection, which will launch in the UK on March 21.
The British designer’s signature colourful bold prints will appear on dresses, T-shirts, jeggings, shirts, shorts, vests and tote bags.

cbirtwell4uniqlo1

The Japanese chain has previously collaborated with UK based labels such Lulu Guinness, Orla Kiely and Laura Ashley, and Celia Birtwell was chosen for her ability “to combine the traditional sensitivity toward prints with a contemporary, modern and unique twist”.

“I’ve spent my life designing textiles so I have quite a big archive,” Birtwell told Vogue. “I was able to go through the library and reference certain moments. When I met the people from Uniqlo Japan, we went through the sketchbooks and reference files together and they hooked into the designs they liked. I then developed those selected specifically for Uniqlo.”

celia-birtwell-mai_2466027a

“Most of the prints featured in the collaboration are from my archive collection,” Birtwell added. “Some are from the Seventies, like Candy Flower and Pretty Woman, but I’ve also added Cherry Spot and Romanian, which are much more recent prints. I think Romanian is one of my favourites.”

What do you think?

nicki sig

Leave a Reply

